MAS FELLOWS2018-11-06T14:51:52+00:00

Each year, the Massachusetts Academy of Sciences honors distinguished individuals through its Fellowship awards. The awardees constitute a select and prestigious community of scientists, engineers, research physicians, and others deeply concerned about science and science education. Awardees are recognized for extraordinary scientific accomplishments and service to the science community and the public. Academy peers initiate the nomination process. The Board of Directors reviews all nominees and makes its selection on the basis of the quality and extent of accomplishment and service. In 2018, the Board of Directors elected Katya Ravid, Professor of Medicine, Biochemistry, Biology and Health Sciences as the new MAS president (see Bio under Duties/Bios and By-Laws).

List of Fellows:

Fellows in consideration are listed at the end of the table.

Dr. Charles Alcock
Director, Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics
Donald H. Menzel Professor of Astrophysics
Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics calcock@cfa.harvard.edu
Phone: 617-495-7100
Dr. Victor Ambros
Professor
UMass Medical School
Program in Molecular Medicine
Victor.Ambros@umassmed.edu
Phone: 508-856-6380
Dr. Frederick Ausubel
Professor
Massachusetts General Hospital
Department of Molecular Biology
ausubel@molbio.mgh.harvard.edu
Phone: 617-726-5969
Dr. W. A. Berggren
Scientist Emeritus
Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution
Geology & Geophysics
wberggren@whoi.edu
Phone: 508-289-2593
Dr. Sangeeta Bhatia
John and Dorthy Wilson Professorship
MIT
Health Sciences and Technology Program
sbhatia@mit.edu
Phone: 617-324-0221
Dr. David Campbell
Professor
Boston University
Dept of Physics
dkcampbe@bu.edu
Phone:  617-35301948
Dr. Anne Carpenter
Imaging Platform Director (faculty equivalent, Principal Investigator)
Broad Institute anne@broadinstitute.org
Phone: 617-714-7750
Dr. Connie Chow Science Club for Girls
UMass Boston Honors College
cchow97@gmail.com
Phone: 617-513-1540
Dr. John Coffin
Professor
Tufts University
Molecular Biology & Microbiology
John.coffin@tufts.edu
Phone:  617-636-6528
Dr. Carolyn Cohen
(1929 – 2017)

Professor Emerita
Brandeis University
Biology
Dr. Catherine (Cady) Coleman
(COLONEL, USAF, RET.)
NASA
An American chemist, a former United States Air Force officer, and a former NASA astronaut.[1]She is a veteran of two Space Shuttle missions, and departed the International Space Station on May 23, 2011, as a crew member of Expedition 27 after logging 159 days in space.
Dr. Robert Dorit
Professor
Smith College
Biological Sciences
rdorit@smith.edu
Phone:  413-585-3638
Dr. Mildred Dresselhaus
(1930-2017)
Prefessor Emerita
MIT MIT ‘Remembering Mildred Dresselhaus’
Link
Claire Duggan
Dir-Programs & Operations
Northeastern University
STEM
c.duggan@northeastern.edu
Phone: 617-373-2036
Dr. Irving Epstein
Professor
Brandeis University
Dept of Chemistry
epstein@brandeis.edu
Phone:  781-736-2503
Dr. G. David Forney
Adjunct Professor Emeritus
MIT
Dept of Electrical Engineering & Computer Science
forneyd@comcast.net
Phone: 617-868-4855
Dr. Lila Gierasch
Distinguished Professor
University of Massachusetts Amherst
Dept Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
gierasch@biochem.umass.edu
Phone: 413-545-6094
Dr. Walter Gilbert
Carl M. Loeb University Professor, Harvard
BioVentures Investors
Was a founder of Biogen, and served as Chairman and CEO until 1985
Not available
Dr. Roy Glauber
Mallinckrodt Research Professor of Physics
Harvard University
Dept of Physics
Laurie_Glimcher@dcfi.harvard.edu
Phone: 617-632-4266
Dr. Laurie Glimcher
Richard and Susan Smith Professor, HMS
President and CEO
Harvard University
Medicine
Dana-Farber Cancer Inst
Dr. Jeffrey Hall
Professor Emeritus
Brandeis University
Biology
hall@brandeis.edu
Dr. James Hamilton
Professor
Boston University
Dept of Physiology and Biophysics
jhamilt@bu.edu
617-638-5048
Dr. Daniel Hartl
Higgins Professor of Biology
Harvard University
Dept of Organismic & Evolutionary Biology
dhartl@oeb.harvard.edu
Phone: 617-496-3357
Dr. Dudley Herschbach
Frank B. Baird, Jr. Professor of Science, Emeritus
Harvard University
Dept of Chemistry & Chemical Biology
herschbach@chemistry.harvard.edu
Phone:  617-495-3218
Dr. Nancy Hopkins
Professor Emerita
MIT
Department of Biology
nhopkins@MIT.EDU
Phone: 617-253-6414
Dr. Evelyn Hu
Tarr-Coyne Professor Applied Physics and of Electrical Engineering
Harvard University
Engineering and Applied Science
ehu@seas.harvard.edu
Phone: 617-496-1385
Dr. Joseph Italiano
Professor and co-founder, Platelet Biogenesis
Harvard Medical School
Department of Medicine
jitaliano@rics.bwh.harvard.edu
Dr. Jonathan King
Professor
MIT
Department of Biology
jaking@MIT.EDU
Phone: 617-253-4700
Dr. Nancy Kopell
Professor
Boston University
Mathematics and Statistics
nk@bu.edu
Phone:  617-353-5210
Dr. Eric Lander
President and Founding Director
Broad Institute Send message via web page
Dr. Richard Larson
Professor
MIT
Institute for Data, Systems, and Society
rclarson@MIT.EDU
Phone: 617-253-3604
Dr. Susan Leeman
Professor
Boston University
Pharmacology & Experimental Therapeutics
sleeman@bu.edu
Phone: 617-638-4364
Dr. Aviva Lev-Ari
Economist, Director & Founder LPBI
Leaders in Pharmaceutical Business Intelligence (LPBI) Group, Boston avivalev-ari@alum.berkeley.edu
Dr. Susan Lindquist
(1949-2016)
Former Director
MIT
Whitehead Institute
Obituary
Dr. Eve Marder
Professor
Brandeis University
Biology
marder@brandeis.edu
Phone: 781-736-3140
Dr. Lynn Margulis
(1938-2011)
University of Massachusetts Amherst Nice life summary
Ms. Sandra Mayrand
Co-Director
UMass Medical School (until 2013)

Board of Directors, Massachusetts State Science and Engineering Fair

Could be contacted via LinkedIn
Dr. John McCarthy
Acting Provost & Senior Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs, Distinguished University Professor
University of Massachusetts Amherst
Department of Linguistics
jmccarthy@linguist.umass.edu
Dr. Craig Mello
Distinguished Professor
UMass Medical School
RNA Therapeutics Institute
Craig.Mello@umassmed.edu
Phone: 508-856-1602
Dr. Matthew Meselson
Thomas Dudley Cabot Professor of the Natural Sciences
Harvard University
Dept of Molecular and Cellular Biology
msm@wjh.harvard.edu
Phone: 617-495-2264
Dr. Ioannis Miaoulis
President and Director, Boston Museum of Science
Museum of Science
Dr. Mary-Lou Pardue
Boris Magasanik Professor
MIT
Department of Biology
mlpardue@MIT.EDU
Phone: (617) 253-6741
Dr. David Pilbeam
Professor
Harvard University
Department of Human Evolutionary Biology
pilbeam@fas.harvard.edu
Phone: 617-495-4736
Dr. Katya Ravid
Professor, Center Founding Director Evans Center for IBR and BU –IBRO (MAS president; 2018-)
Boston University
Departments of Medicine, Biochemistry, Biology and Health Sciences
kravid@bu.edu
Phone: 617-3588242
Tom Ricardi Live Birds of Prey Mass Bird of Prey rehab
Phone: 413-372-8867
Dr. Margaret (Peg) Riley
Professor
(MAS President thru 2017)
University of Massachusetts Amherst
Biology
Massachusetts Academy of Sciences
riley@bio.umass.edu
Phone: 413-577-1306
Howard Ris
(Bud) Ris, president & CEO until 2014
New England Aquarium Could be contacted via LinkedIn
Dr. Megan Rokop
Associate Dean
Broad Institute
UMass Boston Honors College
Megan.Rokop@umb.edu
Phone: 617-287-5520
Dr. Mandana Sassanfar
Lecturer
MIT
Department of Biology
mandana@mit.edu
Phone: 617-452-4371
Dr. Larisa Schelkin
CEO & President & Co-Founding Director of the Diversity and Outreach in Math and Engineering (DOME) Foundation, Inc
DOME Foundation Also: CEO, President & Founder, Global STEM Education Ctr
Dr. Richard Schrock
F G Keyes Professor of Chemistry
MIT
Department of Chemistry
rrs@MIT.EDU
Phone: 617-253-1596
Dr. H. Eugene Stanley
Professor
Boston University
Dept of Physics
hes@bu.edu
Phone: 617-353-2617
Dr. Paul Trunfio
Senior Research Scientist
Boston University
Dept of Physics
trunfio@bu.edu
Phone: 617-353-9041
Dr. B. L. Turner
Professor
Clark University
Graduate School of Geography
bturner@clarku.edu
Phone: 508-793-7325/7434
Dr. Bryan Vought
Senior Research Scientist
Vertex Pharmaceuticals bwvought@gmail.com
Dr. Ward Watt
Professor
Stanford University
Biology
wbwatt@stanford.edu
Dr. Edward O. Wilson
University Research Professor Emeritus
Harvard University ewilson@oeb.harvard.edu
Dr. Susan Windham-Bannister
Founding Chief Executive, resigned 2014
Massachusetts Life Sciences Center
Immediate Past President & CEOCurrent:
President and CEO, Biomedical Growth Strategies LLC and Managing Partner, Biomedical Innovation Advisors LLC
Could be contacted via LinkedIn
Dr. Christos Zahopoulos
Associate Professor
Northeastern University
CPS-Graduate Programs
c.zahopoulos@northeastern.edu
Phone: 617-373-4583
Dr. Maria Zuber
Vice President for Research
MIT
Office of the Vice President for Research
mtz@MIT.EDU
Phone: 617-253-3206

New Members in Consideration:

Dr. Michelle Williams
Professor and Dean of Faculty
Harvard T.H.Chan School of Public Health mawilliams@hsph.harvard.edu
Dr. Dorothy L. Hodgson
Dean of Arts and Sciences and Professor of Anthropology
Brandeis University dhodgson@brandeis.edu
Dr. Elazer Edelman
Professor and Director, Institute for Medical Engineering and Science
MIT ere@MIT.edu
Dr. Lisa Soleymani Lehmann
Associate Professor
Harvard medical School and US Department of Medical Affairs llehmann1@partners.org