GOVERNING BOARD2019-02-05T20:19:14+00:00

Governing Board

Current Board Members

Katya Ravid, Professor, Boston University
Role: Advance MAS mission, with focus on interdisciplinarity
Term: August 2018-July 2021
MAS Position: MAS President, Member of the Board
Email:  kravid@bu.edu

Margaret (Peg) Riley, Professor, University of Mass Med School
Role: MAS mentoring program for middle and high school students in high need districts.
Term: August 2018-July 2021
MAS Position: Member of the Board
Email:  riley@umass.edu

Joseph Italiano, Associate Professor, Harvard Medical School and CSA and co-Founder, Platelet Biogenesis
Role: Advance MAS mission, with focus on creating research bridges
Term: August 2018-July 2021
MAS Position: Member of the Board
Email: jitaliano@rics.bwh.harvard.edu

Bryan Vought, Principal Scientist, Alkermes Pharmaceuticals
Role: Liaison to Industry
Term:  August 2016-July 2019
MAS Position: Member of the Board
Email:  bwvought@gmail.com

James Hamilton, Professor, Boston University School of Medicine
Role: Heath-focused research awareness in middle and high schools; MAS Treasurer
Term: August 2018-July 2021
MAS Position:  Member of the Board
Email:  jhamilt@gmail.com

Connie Chow, Director, UMass Boston Branch of the STEM AP
Role:  Set up mentoring programs with UMB students and some local schools
Term: August 2018-July 2021
MAS Position: Member of the Board
Email: cchow97@gmail.com

Board Responsibilities

  • Establish mission, vision, and policy statements
  • Determine the organization’s programs and services
  • Develop and monitor a strategic plan
  • Monitor the organization’s operations
  • Hire and periodically evaluate the executive director
  • Hold key personnel accountable for their actions
  • Oversee operations without micromanagement
  • Work with and providing support to the executive
  • Approve the annual budget, annual report, etc.
  • Approve major contracts and grants
  • Solicit and review program evaluations
  • Serve as a public figure for the organization
  • Fundraise, by directly donating and soliciting donations
  • Foster public awareness, corporate image and popular support
  • Advocate for the organization
  • Document policies and decisions to create an organizational memory
  • Prepare for and attend board meetings
  • Research and discuss issues before decisions are made
  • Replace and orient board members when a vacancy arises

Advisors to the Governing Board

Aviva Lev-Ari, PhD, RN Director & Founder, Leaders in Pharmaceutical Business Intelligence (LPBI) Group, Boston
Role: Liaison to Biotech and e-Scientific Publishing Industry
Term: August 2018-July 2021
Email:  AvivaLev-Ari@alum.berkeley.edu

Michael Briggs, PhD, President & CSO Woodland Biosciences and Tufts Veterinary School
Role: Liaison to Biotech Industry
Term: August 2018-July 2021
Email: mbriggs@woodlandpharma.com

Advisors in Consideration:

Larry Brown, PhD, Executive Vice President of Research and Development and Chief Scientific Officer at Noveome Biotherapeutics, Inc.
Role: Liaison to Biotech Industry

Raphael Nir, PhD, President & CSO, SBH Sciences, Inc.
Role: Liaison to Biotech Industry

Past Board Members

Robert Dorit, Professor, Smith College
Term:  Jan 2008 – Dec 2014
MAS Positions:  founding Board Member, Fellow
Email:  rdorit@smith.edu

Connie Chow, Professor, Science Club for Girls
Term:  Oct 2013 – Sept 2015
MAS Positions:  Board Member, Fellow
Email:  cchow@scienceclubforgirls.org

Dan Drell, U.S. Department of Energy
Term:  Oct 2013 – Sept 2015
MAS Positions:  Board Member, Founding Member
Email:  Daniel.drell@science.doe.gov

Jenna Farrell, Director, Engage in STEM
Term:  Jan 2008 – open
MAS Positions:  Board Member, Founding Member, Director of E-STEM, Founding Member
Email:  jenna@massacademysciences.org

James Hamilton, Professor, Boston University
Term:  Oct 2013 – Sept 2015
MAS Positions:  Board Member, Fellow
Email:  jhamilt@gmail.com

Antoinette Hays, President, Regis College
Term:  Oct 2013 – Sept 2015
MAS Positions:  Board Member, Member
Email:  Antoinette.hays@regiscollege.edu

Jonathan King, Professor, MIT
Term:  Jan 2008 – Dec 2014
MAS Positions:  Board Member, Founding Member, Fellow
Email:  jaking@mit.edu

Katie Maher, Post-Doctoral Fellow, UMass Amherst
Term:  Oct 2013 – Sept 2014
MAS Positions:  Board Member, Member
Email:  katie.maher@gmail.com

Margaret Riley, President, MAS
Term:  Jan 2008 – open
MAS Positions:  Founder, President, Founding Board Member, Fellow
Email:  pegriley@massacademysciences.org

Mandana Sassanfar, Professor, MIT
Term:  Jan 2008 – Dec 2014
MAS Positions:  Board Member, Founding Member, Fellow
Email:  mandana@mit.edu

Larisa Schelkin, Executive Director & Founder, GTEC
Term:  Oct 2013 – Sept 2015
MAS Positions:  Board Member, Fellow
Email:  larisa.schelkin@gmail.com

JoAnn Sprague, Former MA State Senator
Term:  Oct 2013 – Sept 2014
MAS Positions:  Board Member, Founding Member
Email:  joannsprague@gmail.com

Bryan Vought, PhD, Alkermes Pharmaceuticals
Term:  Oct 2013 – Sept 2015
MAS Positions:  Board Member, Member
Email:  bwvought@gmail.com

Ward Watt, Professor, Stanford University
Term:  Jan 2008 – Dec 2015
MAS Positions:  Board Member, Founding Member, Fellow
Email:  wbwatt@stanford.edu

Robert Lichter, Principal, Merrimack Consultants, LLC
Term:  Jan 2008 – Dec 2010

Susan Walters, Attorney
Term:  Jan 2008 – Dec 2010

Tom McGuire, Attorney, resigned when appointed Judge
Term:  Jan 2008 – Dec 2009